The news is by your side.

WIPL: 7.09 crore per match Viacom 18 win the media right


The Mumbai auction, Viacom 18 awarded the media rights. For the first season of the women’s IPL for a duration of five years. For the period of 2023 to 2027. The firm would pay INR 951 crore (about USD 116.7 million), which BCCI secretary Jay Shah referred to as “huge” when announcing the announcement on Twitter.

Only two of the eight firms that had purchased the tender, Viacom 18 and Disney Star*. Showed up for the auction, according to ESPNcricinfo. Both digital and linear TV sold worldwide, including India, in the winning offer. WIPL

According to Shah, the winning bid amounted to a per-match value of INR 7.09 crore. (about USD 866,000) over a five-year period. Contrarily, the men’s IPL secured a five-year deal in June of last year for INR 48,390.5 crore (about USD 6.2 billion at the time), with a per-match worth of INR 58 crore (USD 7.43 million approx.).

Shah Statement WIPL

“After pay equity, today’s bidding for media rights for Women’s IPL marks another historic mandate,” Shah said on Twitter. “It’s a big and decisive step for empowerment of women’s cricket in India, which will ensure participation of women from all ages. A new dawn indeed!”.

“revolutionise women’s cricket” globally. “I am really thrilled that we have an encouraging response for a league that will revolutionise women’s cricket. Not just in India but across the globe.” He said in statement.

“This is a commitment I have to the board and our women cricketers. And today we have taken one big leap. The broadcasters play a key role in taking the game to a wider audience. And their active interest in the league is a clear indication that the Women’s Indian Premier League. Is headed towards the right direction.”

BCCI President Statement WIPL

“Women’s cricket has been on the up since a few years and the recently concluded bilateral series against Australia is a great testament to how popular women’s cricket has become in India,” BCCI president Roger Binny said in a release. “It was only apt to get our own women’s T20 league and give the fans more of women’s cricket.”

Five teams anticipated for the first season of the women’s IPL, and they receive 80% of the core commercial pool, which primarily consists of media rights.

The five teams will assigned to one of the ten Indian cities that the BCCI shortlisted.

The owners of the men’s IPL clubs Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals, and Gujarat Titans were among those that submitted bids for a team in the women’s IPL, according to an earlier report by ESPNcricinfo. The technical bids must be submitted to BCCI within January 23. The ownership rights to granted for a ten-year period as opposed to the media rights (2023-32).

On January 25, the five winnersbe declared. The BCCI currently has the sealed envelopes with the offers from the organisations wishing to own teams.

Espncricinfo credit

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More