SA’s Feather of Captaincy in the Head of Aiden Markram now.

Aiden Markram

28-year-old Aiden Markram is named as the new captain of South Africa in the T20I format. Former captain Temba Bavuma stepped down from this post last month. Thus, Markram will lead the team in three-match series against West Indies this month.

Which players are to join the squad of SA

Bavuma’s focus will be to take his team ahead in Test and One Day International format as captain. They have three ODIs scheduled to play against west Indies between 16th March to 21st March. But in that series audience will miss Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada. These two fast bowlers will rest that time. And they will be back for the T20 matches. it is between the 25th to 28th of March.

Ryan Rickelton got the return opportunity with the bat in the 50-over squad. Two batters Tony de Zorzi and Tristan Stubbs got called for the squad. Also, Seamer Gerald Coetzee and Spinners Bjorn Fortuin and Keshav Maharaj will join them. Maharaj has the record of taking all ten wickets in a single match, that too against India.
Rob Walter, head coach of South Africa said that he is excited to have Aiden Markram as T20I skipper. Because he is familiar with the format and knows how it works. “He is a player that leads from the front and we have no doubt he will take this team to the next level in the years ahead.”

Enoch Nkwe, CSA director of cricket congratulated the new skipper on him getting the captaincy opportunity. “Leadership is extremely familiar to him having successfully led on so many levels. He is a player that inspires confidence and he has all the qualities to succeed in the role. He also thanked Bavuma for his hard work as a T20 skipper for the past two years and added, “He has done a commendable job during this period and now has a new role to fulfill within the national set-up.”

SA’s Squad against WI

The declared ODI squad for the first two matches against Caribbeans is Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Bjorn Fortuin, Andile Phehlukwayo, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Ryan Rickelton, Tristan Stubbs, Keshav Maharaj, Lizard Williams, Rassie van der Dussen.

and T20 squad is: Aiden Markram (captain), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Heinrich Klaasen, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Tristan Stubbs.

ALSO READ : ICC CWCLT 2022:UAE vs NEP Match Predction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts