MI vs GG: wpl starting with Blockbuster Match

MI vs GG

Finally, MI vs GG the wait is over, Women’s Premier League (WPL) is here to grace your evening with everyday matches. The tournament is starting today and will be continuing till 26th March. Also, there are 4-afternoon matches along with 18 evening matches. The afternoon matches will happen on weekends as same as this structure follows in Men’s tournament, Indian Premier League (IPL).

WPL Franchises and schedule

It’s been just 14 years since IPL started. BCCI decided to start the women league, and thus a year later it is all ready to inaugurate. There is a total of five franchises to compete with each other in this tournament. The teams are- Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Giants, Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and the UP Warriorz.
Today, on Saturday is its first match scheduled between Mumbai Indians MI vs GG and Gujarat Giants. Mumbai Indians are owned by Ambanis and the latter one is owned by Adani Group, just like in IPL. The match will happen at DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, the home ground of MI.

Harmanpreet Kaur on WPL

Captain of the Indian women’s team, Harmanpreet Kaur is also captain of Mumbai Indians. This situation is a kind of replica of a men’s tournament. like, Indian Men Cricket team captain Rohit Sharma is also captain of Mumbai Indians in IPL.
Harmanpreet said that according to her this day is the biggest day for all of them and WPL is one of the biggest leagues. They were waiting for such a league to gain a lot of experience and exposure. “We will get to see a lot of young girls coming from this tournament. This is why we wanted this competition to start. It is definitely going to take women’s cricket to the next level. Going forward, I think the WPL will help create a good team for Indian cricket.”

Beth Mooney’s Chasing for TROPHY

Australia Women’s team’s captain Beth Mooney is the captain of Gujarat Giants. she wants her team to fetch the winning title of the first season of WPL, exactly just like she took her country team T20 World Cup’s winning title.

Mumbai Indians Squad

The squad of Mumbai Indians is- Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Dhara Gujjar, Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Hayley Matthews, Heather Graham, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Neelam Bisht, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Yastika Bhatia, Saika Ishaque, and Sonam Mukesh Yadav.

Gujarat Titans Squad

The Squad of Gujarat Giants is- Beth Mooney (C), Sneh Rana (Vice-Captain), Sabbhineni Meghana, Sophia Dunkley, Annabel Sutherland, Ashleigh Gardner, Ashwani Kumari, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deandra Dottin, Georgia Wareham, Harleen Deol, Hurley Gala, Kim Garth, Mansi Joshi, Tanuja Kanwar, Sushma Verma, Monica Patel, Parunika Sisodia, and Shabnam.

ALSO READ : Meg Lanning is going to lead delhi capitals for the inaugural season of wpl

What do you think?

Written by Janhabi Banerjee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Giants

Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Giants

Keegan Bradley Wife

What Is Keegan Bradley Wife Name?