in ,

ISL winners List: 2014 to 2022-23 Journey

ISL Winners List

Indian Super League (ISL) also known as Hero ISL because of its Sponsorship name is done with its 9th season this Saturday. ISL 2022-23 got the winner in the form of ATK Mohun Bagan to add it to ISL Winners List.
In this total of 9 seasons, only six teams are able to lift the ISL trophy.

ISL winners List:


Atletico de Kolkata was the one to lift the trophy in ISL’s inaugural session. Players like Luis García, Alessandro Del Piero, Robert Pires, and Freddie Ljungberg made the team strongest most at that time. Antonio Lopez Habas was their head coach then. Atletico de Kolkata beat Kerala Blasters FC over there and an unlikely hero Mohammed Rafique became the hero.

2015 (Chennaiyin FC)

Marco Materazzi joined hands for the second time with the team but as the full-time coach in 2015. Previously he was supporting the team as a player. He imprinted his comeback with Chennaiyin FC’s five back-to-back wins. This helped them to reach the playoffs.
It was a heart-crying moment for Chennaiyin FC when Marco announced his resignation. Their Stiven Mendoza was the Golden Boot winner of ISL 2014. There they defeat FC Goa.

2016 (Atletico de Kolkata)

Atletico de Kolkata was again able to make their name as ISL winner for the second time by beating Kerala Blasters. Florent Malouda, the UEFA Champions League winner, Diego Forlán and the former Liverpool player John Arne Riise were there to starlight the season.
The penalty shootout was the way to decide the winner that season.

2017-18 (Chennaiyin FC)

This season, Bengaluru FC and Jamshedpur FC were the two new teams to join hands with ISL. John Gregory was their head coach. With his guidance, the team touched the ISL trophy for the second team and Bengaluru FC became the runner-up.

2018-19 (Bengaluru FC)

After being the runner-up of ISL, Bengaluru FC finally received their happy moment by winning the title. Sunil Chhetri’s team made their name added to the ISL Winner list for the first time in ISL 2018-19. And FC Goa became the runner-up. Carles Cuadrat was their new head coach, by whose guidance the team was dominant throughout the season.

2019-20 (Atletico de Kolkata)

After waiting for two years, ATK became the winner for the third time under the guidance of Antonio Lopez Habas. Roy Krishna was the limelight hero of that season. And runner-up team was Chennaiyin FC.

2020-21 (Mumbai City FC)

This season, ATK merged with Mohun Bagan club and made a completely new team. Mumbai City FC got their winning smile in this 7th season of ISL, after beating debutant team ATK Mohun Bagan. Winner team Mumbai City FC ended the season with 40 points.

2021-22 (Hyderabad FC)

After trying for 7 seasons Hyderabad FC was able to make the winner in the 201-22 seasons with 43 points. Kerala Blasters was the season’s runner-up.

2022-23 (ATK Mohun Bagan)

ATKMB is the new addition to the ISL Winner list by defeating Bengaluru FC via a penalty shootout. The match was exciting from time to time. It reached its peak when the time of the penalty shootout came. Both were in the same position at 2-2, then through penalty, ATK Mohun Bagan crossed the opponent with 4-3.
It was the first win for ATKMB after the “U-turn” they took in their debut season’s 2020-21 final under the guidance of coach Juan Ferrando.

What do you think?

Written by Janhabi Banerjee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Australia Crushed India

Australia Crushed India and win by 10 wickets

Cody Rhodes wife

Who is Cody Rhodes’ wife? Know all about BRANDY RHODES