Home » IPL history- Top Five highest run-getters in 13 seasons

IPL history- Top Five highest run-getters in 13 seasons


Indian Premier League is the biggest cricket tournament in India. Indian Premier League gained huge popularity due to World-class cricketers who graced the game.. During 13 seasons of the Indian Premier League, that scores immense numbers. But there are the top five highest run-getters in IPL history .


5. David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner. He is the fifth top run-scorer in IPL history after Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma. Warner is the only foreign player in the top fifth of the top run-scorer and only two foreigners David Warner along with Ab de Villers to score 5000 runs. He in total scores 5447 runs during his 13 seasons in IPL with a batting average of 42.22 in his 148 innings. He scores 50 half-centuries and four centuries. His highest individual score is 126 runs and the third-highest individual run-scorer after Chris Gayle and Ab de Villers.

In 2009 he made his IPL debut with Delhi Daredevils. And after two years of his IPL in 2011, he was the first cricketer in history to score two consecutive centuries. Sunrisers Hyderabad signs him in 2014 and after a season he was appointed as the new captain of Sunrises Hyderabad. After his one year as Captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad, Warner led the team to their first maiden IPL title in 2016 by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final. Warner is the most successful batsman in IPL.


During the 2020 IPL season, Warner scores the 5000 run mark in IPL. He achieves this milestone in the match against Kolkata Knight Riders and he also becomes the fastest batsman in IPL his to score 5000 runs in the lowest innings in just 135 innings and crosses Virat Kohli to be the fastest.


4. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

Mumbai Indians captain and one of the best Captains in the history of Indian Premier League Rohit Sharma. He is the fourth top most run-scorer in the IPL history after his fellow Indian teammates Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan and former teammate Suresh Raina. And he was followed by Sunrisers Hyderabad Captain David Warner. Rohit Sharma in total scores 5480 runs during his 13 seasons in IPL with a batting average of 31.49 in his 202 innings. He scores 40 half-centuries and one century. His highest individual score is 109 runs not out for Mumbai Indians.

In 2008 he made his IPL debut with Deccan Chargers and played for 3 seasons with them. He is the only captain to win five IPL titles in Indian Premier League with Mumbai Indians. In the year 2011 Mumbai Indians signs their greatest captain from Deccan Chargers. He is also the only Individual to win six IPL trophies in IPL history. Rohit wins his first IPL title with Deccan Chargers in 2009. He is the most successful captain in Indian Premier League along with MS Dhoni.


After two seasons with Mumbai Indians in 2013, he was appointed as the new captain of Mumbai Indians. Immediately after he led the captaincy of the team he brings the Mumbai Indians Maiden IPL trophy.

He wins his six IPL titles in the year 2009 with Deccan chargers and the other five titles in 2013, 15, 17,19 and 2020 with Mumbai Indians. In the 2020 IPL season, Rohit Sharma becomes the third batsmen after Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli to crosses 5000 run marks in the Indian Premier League. He achieves this milestone in the match against Kings XI Punjab.


3. Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)


The IPL specialist and star batsmen Suresh Raina of Chennai Super Kings. He is the third topmost run-scorer in the IPL history after Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan. He was followed by Mumbai Indians Captain Rohit Sharma and Sunrisers Hyderbad Captain David Warner. In his 13 years of IPL career, Suresh Raina in total scores 5491 runs with a batting average of 33.07 in his 195 innings for Chennai Super Kings. He scores 39 half-centuries and one century. His highest individual score is 100 not out.


He started his IPL career with Chennai Super Kings since the inaugural of IPL in 2008. In the first season of his IPL season, he becomes the top run-scorer of Chennai Super Kings with 421 runs. During his 11 seasons with CSK, Suresh Raina wins three IPL trophies. CSK was ban for 2 years from IPL. Raina was appointed as Captain of the new team Gujarat Lions in 2016 after the CSK ban. He captained the Lions for 2 seasons and in 2018 CSK came back to t IPL. He was retained by Chennai Super Kings in 2018.

Immediately after their return to IPL Chennai Super Kings becomes the third times IPL winner and the second-most IPL Title after Mumbai Indians. Raina wins three IPL trophies in the year 2010,2011 and 2018. During his 2019 IPL season, Raina becomes the first-ever batsmen to cross the 5000 run mark in IPL history. He achieves this milestone in the match against Royal Challengers Bangalore.


2. Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capitals)

The Opener batsmen of India and Delhi Capital Shikhar Dhawan. He is the second topmost run-scorer in the IPL history after the Indian Captain Virat Kohli. He is followed by Chennai Super Kings left-handed batsmen Suresh Raina. During his 13 seasons in his IPL career, Shikhar Dhawan in total scores around 5577 runs with a batting average of 35.29 in his 183 innings. He scores 44 half-centuries and two centuries. His highest individual score is 106 not out.

Shikhar Dhawan played his first IPL matches with Delhi Daredevils in 2008 against Rajasthan Royals. In his 13 seasons of IPL, he played with five different franchises. After his first season with Delhi Daredevil. Mumbai Indian signs him in 2009 where he played two IPL seasons. In 2011 Deccan Charges signs him from Mumbai Indian. And the following year Deccan Charges retains him for the 2012 season. The new team Sunrisers Hyderabad signed Dhawan after a match with Deccan chargers where he played for six seasons from 2013 to 2018. In 2019 Delhi Capitals brought him from Sunrisers Hyderabad

During his 2020 IPL season, Dhawan achieves the milestone of 5000 runs and becomes the five-player to reach this level in IPL history. He crosses 5000 runs in the match against Kings XI Punjab in Dubai 2020.


1. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

The captain of India and Royal Challengers Banglore Virat Kohli. He is the top run-scorer in IPL history. His fellow teammates Shikhar Dhawan, former Indian batsman Suresh Raina and the Vice-Captain of India Rohit Sharma followed him. During in 13 years of the IPL  journey, Kohli in total scores around 6076 runs with a batting average of 37.96 in his 191 innings. In the 13 seasons, he scores around 40 half-centuries and five centuries. His highest individual score is 113 runs.

From the beginning of the IPL season, Virat Kohli is an important part of this tournament due to batting and captaincy. He was also part of Royal Challenger Bangalore from the very beginning. In the year 2013, he was appointed as a new captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore. Virat also holds the record for highest individual runs in a single season of Indian Premier League. As he scores 943 runs for Bangalore with four centuries which help the team to reach the final in 2016. But unfortunately, they were lost their final match and hope of their first-ever title against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore plays three IPL finals. In 2009 they play their first final against Deccan Chargers but they lost against them. The second and third final was in 2011 and 2016 but they couldn’t convert them any finals in the title.

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More