in ,

DC vs RCB: Concluding Over 200 Runs Strikes Continued in WPL


Sunday has started with a blockbuster match of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) already as it should be. WPL follows a double-decker match pattern on weekends just like Indian Premier League (IPL). It was the second match of the league and the first match of the day. The match was between Delhi Capitals DC vs RCB and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Brabourne Stadium. And DC won by 60 runs.

Overview of the Match

RCB won the toss and opted for bowling. But that decision backfired when DC openers Shafali Verma and captain Meg Lanning made outstanding 162 runs. They touched 100 runs within 58 runs in partnership. Captain made 72 runs out of 43 balls and Indian batter Shefali Verma made 84 runs out of 45 balls. Shafali reached her half-century in the only tenth over within 31 balls.
Though RCB was successful to take wickets of both of them, the next batters continued their run-fountain brilliantly without losing any wickets. Hence, DC’s four batters made a total of 223 runs, just losing 2 wickets. But RCB could make only 163 runs in total, all thanks to DC bowlers. They were there constantly to break RCB’s partnership till the last over. 35 runs are the highest run made by RCB’s batter, by the captain Smriti Mandhana. The 26-year-old batter made the runs with 23 balls, a strike rate of 152.17.
DC left-arm medium bowler Tara Norris was the person, who took half of RCB’s wickets. She took 5 wickets by giving just 29 overs within 4 overs. Alice Capsey and Shikha Pandey took 2 and 1 wickets and gave 10 and 35 runs each.

DC’s Playing XI

Playing XI of Delhi Capitals Women were Meg Lanning(C), Shafali Verma, Marizanne Kapp, Jemimah Rodrigues, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Taniya Bhatia(w), Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav, and Tara Norris.

Playing XI of RCB

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Playing XI consisted of – Smriti Mandhana(c), Sophie Devine, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry, Richa Ghosh(w), Heather Knight, Kanika Ahuja, Asha Shobana, Preeti Bose, Megan Schutt, and Renuka Thakur Singh.

WPL Tournament

WPL is the Women’s T20 league in India that started yesterday, which is from Saturday. Indian multinational conglomerate TATA Group sponsors it. This tournament is owned as well as operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). There is a total of five franchises – Mumbai Indians DC vs RCB (MI), Gujarat Giants (GG), UP Warriorz (UPW), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Delhi Capitals (DC).

ALSO READ : GG vs UPW: GG is Still Looking for Its First Win

What do you think?

Written by Janhabi Banerjee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings


GG vs UPW: GG is Still Looking for Its First Win

Geeta Phogat

All you need to know about Geeta Phogat