Home » Asia Cup Winners List of all Season

Asia Cup Winners List of all Season


The Asia Cup was first played in the year 1984, and this year marks its 14th season. In the year 1984 United Arab Emirates hosted the tournament, and the event follows the One Day International format. The Twenty20 format was introduced for the first time in 2016.

In response, the Asian Cricket Council stated that One Day Internationals and Twenty20 matches will alternate, along with the Asia Cup winners list for 1984 to 2022, along with the winning captains and prizes.

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup is scheduled for 2022 in Sri Lanka. This will be Sri Lanka’s fifth hosting of the event. Originally, the tournament was scheduled for September 2020, but that plan has been rescheduled.

Due to Covid-19 Pandemic, the season was postponed to 2022. Many international and domestic cricket tournaments were called off in the wake of the outbreak. Therefore, cricket fans are anxiously awaiting the start of the upcoming Asia Cup season.

Most successful Team in Asia Cup

Most successful Team: India (7 titles)

First Season: 1984 in the United Arab Emirates

Last Season: 2018

Next Season: 2022

The previous season of Asia Cup was hosted by the United Arab Emirates in 2018. Six teams participated in the previous season of Asia Cup. India and Bangladesh met in the finals.

ALSO READ : Csa-t20-challenge-2022-full-team-squads

The final match of Asia Cup Season 14th was played on 28th September 2018. India defeated Bangladesh by 3 wickets to win the tournament. Shikhar Dhawan was awarded Man of the Match for his noteworthy performances during the tournament.

In Asia Cup 2018, the format was One Day International. This means that Asia Cup 2018 will be played in Twenty20 cricket format. Twenty20 cricket format is most popular amongst cricket enthusiasts.

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2022, Winning Captain, Prize Money

Fans look forward to the upcoming season of the Asia Cup because the format offers many thrilling moments to fans. India won the 1st Twenty20 Asia Cup played in 2016.

The Asia Cup started with three participating teams, namely Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and India. India defeated both teams and went on to win the inaugural season. India was the most successful team with seven titles.

The three most successful Asia Cup teams are Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and India. Following India Sri Lanka has won five Asia Cup titles. So check it out the complete Asia Cup winners list from the start of the season.

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2022

Years Winner Name Runner-up Name Host Country
1984 India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1990/91 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India Pakistan
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh
2018 India Bangladesh UAE
2022 TBA TBA Pakistan

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More