Home » Asia Cup:- India’s Women team announce 23 squad list

Asia Cup:- India’s Women team announce 23 squad list


On Tuesday, the Indian women team announced their 23 squad members for the upcoming Asia Cup tournament. India will host the event this year which is going to be held from 20 January to 6 February in Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and Pune. It’s been a long time since India host Asia Cup in 1980. The Indian Women’s team head coach Thomas Dennerby released the team list.

But who will lead the team as a captain in the tournament was yet to announce by the All India Football Federation (AIFF). Ashalata Devi is likely to lead the team in the marquee tournament. Apart from this Thomas Dennerby includes four players from the runner ups team at U-19 SAFF Competition. Currently, the whole of the Indian team was camping at Kochi, Kerala since their return from Brazil. On Thursday, the team will leave for Mumbai.

The list of selected members was well balanced in terms of the average age of the squad. Most of the members were under 25 years and the rest are more than 25. According to Thomas both youngsters and experience will help them both on and off the pitch.

Thomas Dennerby:- Reason behind the selections

“We have a good bunch of young players and some experienced heads too. The young ones are hungry to prove themselves, so that brings in a good level of energy and healthy competition for places. But it also works the other way round as the experienced players can guide the young ones in different things both on and off the pitch”. Dennerby said

“If you start thinking too much about permutations and combinations, that can take a toll on the way you play the game. The coaches can do all the thinking we can. But for the players, it’s all about going out there and playing well on the day. Football is a beautiful game,’ and you need to live in the moment to play it well,” further he added.

List of 23 selected members for Women’s Asia Cup:-

Head Coach:- Thomas Dennerby


Aditi Chauhan (1), Maibam Linthoingambi Devi (23), Sowmiya Narayanasamy (19).


Dalima Chhibber (17), Sweety Devi Ngangbam (2), Ritu Rani (21), Loitongbam Ashalata Devi (4), Manisa Panna (3), Hemam Shilky Devi (5), Sanju Yadav (8).


Yumnam Kamala Devi (6), Anju Tamang (9), Karthika Angamuthu (20), Nongmeithem Ratanbala Devi (7), Naorem Priyangka Devi (14), Indumathi Kathiresan (12).


Manisha Kalyan (16), Grace Dangmei (11), Pyari Xaxa (10), Renu (15), Sumati Kumari (22), Sandhiya Ranganathan (13), Mariyammal Balamurugan (18).

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More