Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera  selected for Srilanka Limited overs

Angelo Mathews
Image Cradit – ESPN

Angelo Mathews Kusal Perera  selected for Srilanka Limited overs against New Zealand.

Players on row Angelo Mathews

The team that travelled India in January was without Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Nuwan Thushara, and Jeffrey Vandersay.

Following a disastrous ODI tour of India earlier this year, appeals made to choose more veterans in a World Cup year. Mathews and Perera added as a result.

Despite not having played much since returning from a shoulder injury 16 months ago. Perera got called up. Despite the possibility that Sri Lanka will consider him for the ODI World Cup in India in October and November, he is now solely a member of the T20 team to manage his workload.

Since Sri Lanka’s March 2021 trip of the West Indies, Mathews has not played for the white-ball teams. His most recent experience with restricted overs came in two matches for Sri Lanka A against the England Lions. When he hit a fifty, and the Lanka Premier League. Where he scored 201 runs for the Colombo Stars at an average of 40.20. He has improved his fitness over the past year, but seam-bowling experts do not consider him to be a consistently reliable choice.

The New one

In a List-A encounter against the England Lions, Croospulle, who bats first, amassed two centuries and a half-century.

Arachchige additionally put forth a solid effort against the Lions, making big contributions from the lower order and taking wickets with his offbreaks. Nuwanidu distinguished himself against India in addition to scoring two fifty-plus runs against the Lions, rounding off an impressive stretch of play that started with the LPL. Croospulle and Nuwanidu are on the T20I team, while Arachchige will participate in the ODIs.

The most well-known absence is that of Avishka. Who had recently returned to the national team for the India tour following a stellar LPL season in which he finished as the league’s top scorer. He also made 67 and 150 at the most recent four-day NSL competition. Yet because of poor performances against the Lions and in India. As well as intense rivalry for top-order slots, the selectors were forced to leave him out.

Because Rajapaksa hasn’t been the same hitter. Who won Player of the Match in the 2022 Asia Cup final, his removal is less concerning.

T20 squad: Dasun Shanaka (capt.), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Janith Perera, Lasith Croospulle, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana, Pramod Madushan.

ODI squad: Dasun Shanaka (capt.), Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis (wk), Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts